Review: Meet Me Under the Mistletoe – Carla Burgess

Review: Meet Me Under the Mistletoe – Carla BurgessMeet me under the Mistletoe
by Carla Burgess
Publisher: HQ Digital
Publication Date: October 27, 2017
Genres: Romance
Pages: 222
Source: NetGalley

I received an advance review copy of this book from NetGalley. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

My rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

A fabulously festive romantic read, perfect to curl up with by the fire this Christmas!It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas at the little flower shop…
Florist Rachel Jones might spend every day making beautiful bridal bouquets at her little flower shop, but her own love life is wilting as quickly as a bunch of dead roses.

Luckily, the arrival of handsome detective Anthony Bascombe, the new tenant upstairs is the perfect distraction! Although there’s a catch, Anthony isn’t looking for love – he’s looking for her ex-fiancé, Patrick…

But as the snow begins to fall and her little shop fills with mistletoe ready for Christmas, will Rachel manage to melt Anthony’s heart?

Fans of Debbie Johnson, Holly Martin and Christie Barlow will love this heartwarming read from the bestselling author of Marry Me Tomorrow.

Amazon  Apple  Barnes & Noble  Kobo


Goodreads

 


Anti-relationship and anti-Christmas Anthony is the exact opposite of too-quick-to-jump-into-a-relationship and heavily-sentimental Rachel, so you’d expect sparks to fly when they meet.  The dialogue is witty and quite funny, especially Anthony’s comebacks to Rachel’s teasing.  Anthony is very much married to his work, and resistant to the thought that he’s missing out on anything.
“Happiness can be found in lots of places.  Good food, a nice pint, a night out with the lads, solving a crime, sex.”
Rachel, of course, finds herself falling for him, but is initially resistant due to the investigation, and then later due to not wanting to get hurt when Anthony inevitably leaves.  Of course, after a bit of Christmas magic, burst water tanks, mistletoe, and fairy lights, I’m sure you can guess what happens!
The plot meanders quite a bit, especially after the major non-romance plot line is resolved.  The ending also was quite abrupt, though, in hindsight, I’m not sure how else I would’ve expected the book to end.  I also feel like there were a lot of hints dropped around Anthony’s family background that were never resolved.  I’m not sure if this is intended to be the first in the series or not, but I would be interested in reading more about Anthony and Rachel trying to make a relationship work.  The ending had much more of a happily-ever-after-for-now feel then a regular romance HEA.
Overall, a fluffy and adorable Christmas read.  Perfect if you’re looking for a comfy, relaxing bit of Christmas magic.

SaveSave

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.